BMW M235i Cup: ninth round - Eichenberg celebrates second victory in a row

In the ninth round of the VLN endurance championship Nürburgring, the BMW M235i Racing Cup was a veritable death of favorites. 19 vehicles hit the Nordschleife on October 8, four of them did not reach the finish. Among them the top two in the cup ranking. A circumstance that Heiko Eichenberg used mercilessly in the BMW of the Securtal Sorg Rennsport team. After his success at the eighth VLN run, the lone fighter won again and is only four points behind second place in the cup standings.

In the initial phase, however, Eichenberg was initially left behind. In the lead, the designated VLN champions Alexander Mies and Michael Schrey in the Bonk Motorsport BMW and the overall runners-up, Thomas Jäger and Rudi Adams in the Eifelblitz from Scheid-Honert Motorsport, pulled away. When light rain set in again on the Nordschleife after an hour and a half, Eichenberg even bumped across the meadow in the Brünnchen section and also had to let the fourth overall in the Pixum Team Adrenalin-BMW, ​​Uwe Ebertz, Norbert Fischer and Christian Konnerth, go for the first time.

A little later, the drive was in the lead for Schrey / Mies with a defective drive shaft to end. "So far we have been spared any technical problems throughout the season. Unfortunately it caught us once, but motorsport is sometimes that tough, "said Schrey. Meanwhile, Eichenberg got along better and better with the difficult conditions in the Eifel, pulled first Ebertz / Fischer / Konnerth for second place and put pressure on the new front runners in Eifelblitz, reducing the gap to less than three seconds. Just over an hour before the end of the race, Jäger crashed out of the Mercedes Arena, clearing the way for the lone individual in the Cup5. He stayed clean and set himself apart from his pursuers. With a clear lead over Ebertz / Fischer / Konnerth (1: 23.559 minutes) and the FK performance trio Stefan Vancampenhoudt, Yannik Mettler and Thorsten Wolter (3: 38.640 minutes) crossed Eichenberg as the winner of the finish line.


Before the final Schrey / Mies are in the Cup5 standings with 198 points unassailable front. In second place, Jäger / Adems with 126 counters, Eichenberg has collected after the success again 122 points.


All photos: SB-Medien, Stefan Baldauf, Guido ten Brink
Related Posts