N24h - BMW is fighting for the lead at the Nürburgring

The battle for victory in the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring (DE) comes to a head six hours before the end. Maxime Martin (BE), Lucas Luhr (DE), Richard Westbrook (GB) and Markus Palttala (FI) are part of an exciting duel for the top position with their # 25 BMW Z4 GT3. In the 70th lap, the drivers from BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS took first place for the first time. Since then there have been several changes of leadership with the Audi # 28 due to a different pit stop rhythm. The BMW Quartet is currently in second place.

The second car from BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS with the number 26 and drivers Dirk Adorf (DE), Augusto Farfus (BR), Nick Catsburg (NL) and Jörg Müller (DE) also holds fourth place in the long-distance classic Run.

Starting number 4 from Walkenhorst Motorsport is the third BMW Z3 GT10 in the top 17. Felipe Laser (DE), Michela Cerruti (IT), John Edwards (US) and Daniel Keilwitz (DE) are currently in seventh position. The two cars from the BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert were eliminated early after two accidents at the start of the race and at night.

Michele Di Martino (DE), Moritz Oberheim (DE), Kevin Why (DE) and Torsten Kratz (DE) from Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport lead with the # 301 BMW M235i Racing the BMW M235i Racing Cup class and are already in the overall classification 25th place. The media vehicle with Bernd Ostmann (DE), Christian Gebhardt (DE), BMW Motorsport Junior Victor Bouveng (SE) and Harald Grohs (DE) leads the last section of the race at the top of the SP 8T class.

Reactions and placements - after 18 hours.

Maxime Martin (BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS, car number 25, 2nd place):
“My last two stints in the morning were very difficult because we had a lot of yellow flags. The situation was not always clear at certain points. I had to be very careful not to risk being punished, but I got through well. We have a close fight for the top positions. It is not yet clear how it will end. We will definitely continue to do our best. ”

Jörg Müller (BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS, car number 26, place 4):
“Unfortunately we lost time during the night due to a problem with the pit stop and are therefore not at the forefront. But the speed of the car is good and we will definitely give our all until the last minute. You never know whether the teams placed in front of us will not have any problems. ”

Daniel Keilwitz (Walkenhorst Motorsport powered by Dunlop, start number 17, 7th place):
“I had a lot of yellow phases in my stint, but was able to accelerate again in the last two laps and catch up with the Mercedes in front of me. I am impressed with how smoothly the BMW Z4 GT3 runs. It's the first race in this vehicle for me, and I had to get used to it first - especially the high cornering speeds. But now I am coping very well with it. ”

Harald Grohs (BMW Motorsport, start number 235, place 1 SP 8T):
“The car still runs really perfectly and has no scratches. Although I spent a lot of time in the vehicle at night, I have no physical problems. We work very well together as a team and all perform very well. Due to the many accidents, you still have to be extremely careful on the route. Our goal was to get through the race without incidents and penalties - and we are on the right track. ”

BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert
# 19 BMW Z4 GT3, Dirk Werner (DE), Marco Wittmann (DE), Dirk Müller (DE), Alexander Sims (GB) - outage

# 20 BMW Z4 GT3, Claudia Hürtgen (DE), Dominik Baumann (AT), Jens Klingmann (DE), Martin Tomczyk (DE) - outage

BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS
# 25 BMW Z4 GT3, Maxime Martin (BE), Lucas Luhr (DE), Richard Westbrook (GB), Markus Palttala (FI) - 2nd place

# 26 BMW Z4 GT3, Dirk Adorf (DE), Augusto Farfus (BR), Nick Catsburg (NL), Jörg Müller (DE) - 4th place

Walkenhorst Motorsport powered by Dunlop
# 17 BMW Z4 GT3, Felipe Laser (DE), Michela Cerruti (IT), John Edwards (US), Daniel Keilwitz (DE) - 7th place

# 18 BMW Z4 GT3, Henry Walkenhorst (DE), Ralf Oeverhaus (DE), Christian Bollrath (DE), Stefan Aust (DE) - 18th place

BMW M235i Racing media vehicle
# 235 BMW M235i Racing, Bernd Ostmann (DE), Christian Gebhardt (DE), Victor Bouveng (SE), Harald Grohs (DE) - 1st place (SP 8T)


Comments are closed.

Related Posts