Fully electrified in a futuristic retro design - The Honda e

www.matthowell.co.uk

Design and digitization are the levers with which Honda wants to win customers over for its first all-electric car, the Honda e. The concept is as clear and puristic as the design of the small car, which at 3,85 meters (10 centimeters) is significantly shorter than the Jazz, but with a starting price of 33.850 euros, it is quite a chunk. Even if politicians will eventually bring themselves to lower this list price with the announced funding by 6000 euros. The delivery should take place “in spring”. Given the funding conditions hanging in the air, even Honda is in no great hurry to put an electric car in the salesrooms.

Honda e - Successful design language

For a very ambitious price, the customer then receives “a vehicle of the year 2030, realized with the technical possibilities of today”, as Honda announced somewhat full-bodied at the driving presentation. The Honda e does not come out quite as futuristic, even though it presents itself quite successfully in a new design language that can become style-forming for small cars and electric cars. How the iPhone pre-trained it for cell phones.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e-cameras replace the side mirrors

Smooth surfaces, clear shapes - everything seems reduced to the essentials. Round headlights, in which all light functions from daytime running lights, flashing lights and high beams are combined, no side mirrors - instead high-resolution cameras with a water-repellent lens surface - recessed door handles, lines and joints as drawn with a ruler. All pretty cool, which means nothing more than the “modern” that has gone out of fashion today.

A car that attracts attention and a car that does a lot differently than is common for this class and size.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e - Easily accessible power socket

For example, to drive through the rear axle. The perfect solution in terms of driving dynamics. Honda packs the 35,5 kWh battery into the base assembly, the charging and power electronics under the bonnet. A gimmick: Where others try to hide their loading point, Honda opens a well visible hatch in the style of a roof window in the hood.

The drive motor is hardly larger than an alternator in the past and integrated into the rear axle.

Honda e - Two power levels with 315 Nm of torque

With an output of 100 kW / 136 hp (alternatively there is also a 113 kW / 154 hp version, which, however, only provides better acceleration, but otherwise provides identical performance and range) and a torque of a whopping 315 Newton meters, it brings the Honda e in 9 or 8,3 seconds at 100 km / h and at the top up to 145 km / h. Honda perfects the so-called “one-pedal driving”. If you activate this mode in the center console, you can almost forget the brake pedal. Every small decrease in the pedal pressure on the right lets the Honda go into maximum recuperation and slow down to a standstill. In fact, after a short period of getting used to it, you get to really only control the flow of the car using the accelerator pedal and to regenerate maximum electricity.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e - sports car tuning, but clear range     

In this rear-wheel drive layout, the loads in the car are distributed 50 to 50 between the front and rear axles. The Honda e is thus perfectly balanced and a real outlier in terms of driving dynamics. This sports car set-up is garnished with a load-free steering and a turning circle of only 8,60 meters. It could hardly be more handy. It fits a car whose primary use is for Honda in the city and its immediate surroundings. From which a fairly clear framework is also derived for the range.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e - Fast recharge during lunch break

According to the manufacturer, the 33,5 kWh battery power is sufficient for 222 kilometers after measurement in the WLTP cycle. According to our first experiences, this is a very optimistic statement. During the presentation, we boarded a pre-series vehicle that showed a loading level of 97 percent and calculated a range of 130 kilometers. After 110 test kilometers on city, country and expressways, the car still reported 26 percent remaining charge and a feasible range of 42 kilometers. After recharging to 99 percent during lunch, the electric Honda calculates a range of 160 kilometers.

Honda e - charging up to 80 percent within 30 minutes   

If you are really only in the city and can dock in the evening at the wall box or at a public charging station, you will most likely get by and can leave a charging station with 7,4 kW AC fully charged in just over four hours. Such a charging process takes more than 18 hours on the classic household socket with the standard cable. The battery can be recharged to 50 percent within 100 minutes at the so-called quick charging stations with 30 or 80 kW DC.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e - lounge atmosphere and comprehensive digitization

Like the exterior, the interior exudes a line of modern and retro. A maximum of four occupants can expect a lounge atmosphere and widespread digitalization. Mocha-brown seat belts, fabrics in the classic pepper and salt pattern meet a wood-plastic bar that runs across the strictly linear dashboard, which here lives up to the second part of the word. We felt strongly reminded of the beginnings of Japanese car exports and the attempts at refinement that were common at the time. Honda does not dare to treat itself to the courage to use real wood, such as BMW had with the i3. Or would that be classified as a waste of resources or tree level?

Honda e - The personal assistant knows the answer to all questions

This somewhat strange wood look then opens up a broadband cinema that actually does justice to the announcement “Auto von 2030”.

Except for the air conditioning, everything runs with touch and swipe gestures. Or by voice. The personal assistant is permanently docked via the cloud in the Google universe and provides the answer to all questions. It goes without saying that all driving and safety systems are built into this Honda, the car can drive into all kinds of parking spaces independently and can be opened, pre-air-conditioned, located, monitored or released for driving using an app or code ,

Honda e - fully digital displays deliver information almost a meter wide

Three high-resolution screens (two 12,3 inches, one 8,8 inches) provide all the information and entertainment that modern people in the car are supposed to need to feel behind the wheel as if on the couch at home or in front of the car PC in the office. This information strip, which looks like a monitor and whose contents can be exchanged or shared, moved or even disappeared, is flanked by two six-inch models on which the cameras on the side provide the image that can traditionally be seen in the wing mirror. Certainly cool, but not at least on the left side, because the mirror monitor is partially covered by the steering wheel hand.

Honda e - With 171 liters little room in the trunk

The rear view mirror alternatively offers a wide-screen camera image or the classic mirror view, which includes what is going on in the back seat. There, two people can accommodate quite well beyond school age. Where the e-Honda falls is still further back, with the luggage. A trunk with a volume of 171 liters huddles under the tailgate, which due to its lack of height is already overwhelmed with two suitcases approved for use on planes. Whoever carries the bulky charging cable for the public juice points there is quite limited. The back seat backrest can be folded down completely and then creates a smooth surface that can accommodate up to 861 liters of load, but as a practical city car, the Honda e has to let the front-wheel-drive competitors take the lead. Even with storage space for the usual small things, the Honda designers have not put much effort into it. Great driving dynamics and rear-engine drive require a compromise when it comes to the payload. 911 owners have lived in this conflict forever.

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts
Read more

I VOLT more! - Driving report HONDA CR-Z

Who is the HONDA CR-Z a recommendation for? Clearly for people who drive a car not as a burden, but as a pleasure. Prefer the sporty road holding and handling to the transport and converting skills of a station wagon and are on the move with a green conscience and conserve resources. ,

Voll elektrifiziert im futuristischen Retro-Design – Der Honda e

www.matthowell.co.uk

Design und Digitalisierung, das sind die Stellschrauben, mit denen Honda Kunden für sein erstes rein elektrisches Automobil, den Honda e, gewinnen will. Die Konzeption ist dabei so klar und puristisch wie das Design des Kleinwagens, der mit 3,85 Metern deutlich (10 Zentimeter) kürzer als der Jazz ausfällt, mit einem Startpreis von 33.850 Euro aber ein ziemlicher Brocken ist. Auch dann noch, wenn sich die Politik irgendwann dazu durchringen wird, diesen Listenpreis mit der angekündigten Förderung um 6000 Euro zu  drücken. Die Auslieferung soll “im Frühjahr” erfolgen. Angesichts der in der Luft hängenden Förderbedingungen hat es auch Honda nicht sonderlich eilig, ein E-Auto in die Verkaufsräume zu stellen.

Honda e – Gelungene Designsprache

Für einen sehr ambitionierten Preis erhält der Kunde dann “ein Fahrzeug des Jahres 2030, realisiert mit den technischen Möglichkeiten von heute”, wie Honda etwas vollmundig bei der Fahrvorstellung verkündet. Ganz so futuristisch kommt der Honda e dann doch nicht daher, wenngleich er sich recht gelungen in einer neuen Designsprache vorstellt, die durchaus stilbildend für Kleinwagen und E-Autos werden kann. Wie es das iPhone für die Mobiltelefone vorexerziert hat.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e – Kameras ersetzen die Seitenspiegel

Glatte Flächen, klare Formen – alles wirkt auf das Wesentliche reduziert. Runde Scheinwerfer, in denen alle Lichtfunktionen von Tagfahr-, über Blink- bis Fernlicht vereint sind, keine Seitenspiegel – statt dessen hochauflösende Kameras mit wasserabweisender Linsenoberfläche – versenkte Türgriffe, Linien und Fugen wie mit dem Lineal gezogen. Alles ziemlich cool, was heute ja nichts anderes als das aus der Mode gekommene “modern” bedeutet.

Ein Auto, das auffällt und ein Auto, das vieles anders macht, als es gemeinhin üblich für diese Klasse und Größe ist.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e – Gut zugängliche Strombuchse

Beispielsweise den Antrieb über die Hinterachse zu bewerkstelligen. Fahrdynamisch die perfekte Lösung. Die 35,5 kWh Batterie verpackt Honda in die Bodengruppe, die Lade- und Leistungselektronik unter die Motorhaube. Ein Gimmick: Wo andere ihre Ladestelle zu verstecken bemüht sind, macht Honda in der Haube eine gut sichtbare Luke im Stil eines Dachfensters auf.

Der Antriebsmotor ist kaum größer als früher eine Lichtmaschine und in die Hinterachse integriert.

Honda e – Zwei Leistungsstufen mit 315 Newtonmeter Drehmoment

Mit einer Leistung von 100 kW/136 PS (alternativ gibt es auch eine 113 kW/154 PS Version, die allerdings nur eine bessere Beschleunigung, ansonsten aber identische Leistung und Reichweite liefert) und einem Drehmoment von satten 315 Newtonmetern bringt er den Honda e in 9 oder 8,3 Sekunden auf 100 km/h und in der Spitze bis 145 km/h. Honda perfektioniert das sogenannte “One-Pedal-Driving”. Wer diesen Modus in der Mittelkonsole aktiviert, kann das Bremspedal fast vergessen. Jedes noch so kleine Nachlassen des Pedaldrucks rechts lässt den Honda in maximale Rekuperation übergehen und bis zum Stand abbremsen. In der Tat kommt man nach kurzer Eingewöhnung dahin, den Fluss des Autos wirklich nur über das Gaspedal zu steuern und maximal Strom zu regenerieren.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e – Sportwagenabstimmung, aber übersichtliche Reichweite     

Die Lasten im Auto verteilen sich in diesem Heckantriebslayout 50 zu 50 auf die Vorder- und Hinterachse. Der Honda e ist damit perfekt ausbalanciert und fahrdynamisch ein echter Ausreißer. Garniert wird diese Sportwagen-Abstimmung mit einer lastfreien Lenkung und einem Wendekreis von lediglich 8,60 Metern. Handlicher geht es wohl kaum. Das passt zu einem Auto, dessen primären Verwendungszweck Honda in der Stadt und deren engerem Umfeld festmacht. Woraus dann auch für die Reichweite ein recht übersichtlicher Rahmen abgeleitet wird.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e – Schnelle Aufladung während der Mittagspause

Nach Herstellerangaben reichen die 33,5 kWh Batteriestrom für 222 Kilometer nach Messung im WLTP-Zyklus. Nach unseren ersten Erfahrungen ist das eine sehr optimistische Aussage. Wir bestiegen bei der Präsentation ein Vorserienfahrzeug, das einen Ladegrad von 97 Prozent anzeigte und daraus eine Reichweite von 130 Kilometern errechnete. Nach 110 Testkilometern auf Stadt-, Land- und Schnellstraßen meldete das Auto noch 26 Prozent Restladung und eine damit machbare Reichweite von 42 Kilometern. Nach Wiederaufladung auf 99 Prozent während des Mittagessens rechnet der elektrische Honda für sich eine Reichweite von 160 Kilometern.

Honda e – Aufladung auf 80 Prozent binnen 30 Minuten   

Wer wirklich nur in der Stadt unterwegs ist und abends an der Wallbox oder an eine öffentliche Ladesäule andocken kann, kommt damit sehr wahrscheinlich aus und kann in gut vier Stunden eine Ladestation mit 7,4 kW Wechselstrom wieder voll geladen verlassen. An der klassischen Haushaltssteckdose mit dem Standardkabel zieht sich ein solcher Ladevorgang über mehr als 18 Stunden hin. An den sogenannten Schnellladestationen mit 50 oder 100 kW Gleichstrom lässt sich die Batterie binnen 30 Minuten zu 80 Prozent nachladen.

www.matthowell.co.uk

Honda e – Lounge-Atmosphäre und flächendeckende Digitalisierung

Wie das Äußere verströmt auch das Interieur eine Linie von Moderne und Retro. Lounge-Atmosphäre und flächendeckende Digitalisierung erwartet die maximal vier Insassen. Mokkabraune Sicherheitsgurte, Stoffe im klassischem Pfeffer-und-Salz-Muster treffen auf eine Holz-Kunststoff-Leiste, die sich quer über das streng linear ausgelegte Armaturenbrett zieht, das hier dem zweiten Wortbestandteil alle Ehre macht. Wir fühlten uns stark an die Anfänge japanischer Autoexporte und die damals üblichen Veredelungsversuche erinnert. Den Mut zu Echtholz, wie ihn BMW beim i3 hatte, traut oder gönnt sich Honda dann doch nicht. Oder wäre das schon als Ressourcen-Verschwendung oder Baumfrevel einzustufen?

Honda e – Der persönliche Assistent kennt die Antwort auf alle Fragen

Über diese etwas befremdlichen Holzoptik eröffnet sich dann ein Breitbandkino, das in der Tat der Ankündigung “Auto von 2030” gerecht wird.

Bis auf die Klimatisierung läuft alles mit Touch- und Wischgesten. Oder per Sprache. Der persönliche Assistent ist ständig über die Cloud im Google-Universum angedockt und liefert die Antwort auf alle Fragen. Dass sämtliche Fahr- und Sicherheitssysteme in diesem Honda eingebaut sind, das Auto Parklücken aller Art selbstständig anfahren kann und per App oder Code auch aus der Ferne geöffnet, vorklimatisiert, geortet, überwacht oder auch zum Fahren freigegeben werden kann, versteht sich da eigentlich von selbst.

Honda e – Volldigitale Displays liefern Informationen auf fast einem Meter Breite

Drei hochauflösende Bildschirme (zweimal 12,3 Zoll, einer 8,8 Zoll) liefern alles an Informationen und Unterhaltung, was der moderne Mensch im Auto angeblich benötigt, um sich hinter dem Steuer so zu fühlen, wie entweder auf der Couch daheim oder vor dem PC im Büro. Dieser optisch wie ein Monitor wirkende Infostreifen, dessen Inhalte sich tauschen oder teilen, verschieben oder auch verschwinden lassen, wird flankiert von zwei Sechszöllern, auf denen die seitlichen Kameras das Bild liefern, das klassischerweise im Außenspiegel zu sehen ist. Sicher cool, aber zumindest auf der linken Seite nicht ungetrübt, denn der Spiegelmonitor wird von der Lenkradhand zu einem Teil verdeckt.

Honda e – Bei 171 Litern wenig Spielraum im Kofferraum

Der Rückspiegel bietet alternativ ein Breitwandkamera-Bild oder den klassischen Spiegelblick, der das Geschehen auf der Rückbank mit einschließt. Dort können zwei Personen auch jenseits des Schulalters ganz passabel unterkommen. Wo der e-Honda patzt, ist noch weiter hinten, beim Gepäck. Unter der Heckklappe kauert ein Kofferraum von 171 Litern Volumen, der durch seine fehlende Höhe schon mit zwei im Flugzeug zugelassenen Handkoffern überfordert ist. Wer dort dann auch noch das sperrige Ladekabel für die öffentlichen Saftpunkte mitführt, ist ziemlich eingeschränkt. Die Rückbanklehne lässt sich zwar in Gänze umklappen und schafft dann eine glatte Fläche, auf der bis zu 861 Liter Ladung unterkommen können, aber als praktischer Cityflitzer muss der Honda e den Konkurrenten mit Frontantrieb den Vortritt lassen. Auch mit Ablagemöglichkeiten für den üblichen Kleinkram haben sich die Honda Designer nicht sonderlich viel Mühe geben. Tolle Fahrdynamik und Heckmotor-Antrieb verlangen bei der Zuladung nun mal eben den Kompromiss. 911er-Besitzer leben schon ewig in diesem Zwiespalt.

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts