Jaguar and Land Rover are going electric

Land Rover alone is to bring six all-electric models onto the market in the next five years

So far, e-mobility has been a tender plant for Jaguar and Land Rover. But the new head of the JLR Group now wants to bring it to full bloom within a few years.

Jaguar and Land Rover are expected to transform themselves into suppliers of predominantly electrically powered cars in just a few years. Thierry Bollore, head of the Jaguar Land Rover Group (JLR) who took office in September, announces in his now presented “Reimagine” transformation strategy, in addition to a drastic change in the product portfolio, that he intends to make the entire company CO2039-neutral by 2. 

So far, the range of electrically powered models at JLR has been limited to the Jaguar i-Pace and some plug-in hybrid vehicles from both brands. Jaguar is now expected to convert to an electric luxury brand by 2025 and the proportion of vehicles sold with internal combustion engines will drop to zero by the end of the 2020s. At Land Rover, at this point in time, a proportion of purely electrically powered vehicles of 60 percent is expected. In addition, the entire company wants to say goodbye to diesel engines as early as 2026 and, at the same time, increasingly invest in the development of hydrogen technology. Appropriate technology carriers are to be put on the road this year. 

The electric offensive will be based on three platforms - two for Land Rover and one for Jaguar. At Land Rover, the first electric model on a new basis is to come onto the market in 2024, with five more electric models to follow. 

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts

Jaguar und Land Rover werden elektrisch

Allein Land Rover soll in den kommenden fünf Jahren sechs rein elektrisch angetriebene Modelle neu auf den Markt bringen

Bisher war die E-Mobilität bei Jaguar und Land Rover eher ein zartes Pflänzchen. Doch der neue Chef der JLR-Gruppe will es nun innerhalb weniger Jahre zu voller Blüte bringen.

Jaguar und Land Rover sollen sich in bereits wenigen Jahren zu Anbietern überwiegend elektrisch angetriebener Autos wandeln. Thierry Bollore, im September neu angetretener Chef der Jaguar-Land-Rover-Gruppe (JLR), kündigt in seiner jetzt vorgestellten Transformationsstrategie „Reimagine“ neben einem drastischen Wandel des Produktportfolios zudem an, das Gesamtunternehmen bis 2039 CO2-neutral aufstellen zu wollen. 

Bislang beschränkte sich das Angebot elektrisch angetriebener Modelle bei JLR auf den i-Pace von Jaguar sowie einige Plug-in-Hybrid-Fahrzeuge beider Marken. Nun soll Jaguar bis 2025 den Wandel zur elektrischen Luxusmarke vollziehen und der Anteil der mit Verbrennermotor verkauften Fahrzeuge bis Ende der 2020er-Jahre auf null sinken. Bei Land Rover rechnet man zu diesem Zeitpunkt mit einem Anteil rein elektrisch angetriebener Fahrzeuge von 60 Prozent. Bereits 2026 wolle sich das Gesamtunternehmen zudem vom Dieselantrieb verabschieden und parallel verstärkt in die Entwicklung von Wasserstofftechnik investieren. Entsprechende Technologieträger will man noch in diesem Jahr auf die Straße bringen. 

Basis der Elektro-Offensive werden drei Plattformen sein – zwei für Land Rover und eine für Jaguar. Bei Land Rover soll das erste Elektro-Modell auf neuer Basis 2024 auf den Markt kommen, fünf weitere Elektro-Modelle werden folgen. 

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts