New make-up, helpers and motors

Mercedes-AMG E-Class Cabriolet, 2020, outdoor, exterior: designo hyacinth red metallic, AMG-Line; Interior: Nappa leather, macchiato beige / magma gray, AMG-Line, wood trim parts, gray ash, open-pore Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet, 2020, Outdoor, exterior: designo hyacinth red metallic, AMG line; interior: nappa leather macchiato beige / magma gray, AMG line, gray open-pore ash wood trim parts

Like the sedan and station wagon, Mercedes has also given the coupé and cabriolet of the E-Class family a facelift. This gives the lifestyle offshoots a bouquet of innovations.

Mercedes E-Class: facelift for Coupé / Cabriolet

New make-up, helpers and motors

After the facelifted E-Class in the summer, Mercedes will follow suit in autumn with the two-door E-Class Coupé and Cabriolet, which have been redesigned analogously. As before the sedan and station wagon, they get smaller optical retouching as well as some interior innovations and new engines.

[lwptoc min = "5" depth = "6"]

The changes are subtle. The headlights - as before in full LED version - will be a bit flatter in the future. The “diamond grill” in an A-shaped design is said to give the face more dynamism. The two-part LED rear lights get a new interior. Four new exterior paints and new rim designs are available.

Mercedes-AMG E 53 Coupé (combined fuel consumption: 8,9-8,6 l / 100 km, combined CO2 emissions: 204-198 g / km), 2020, outdoor, front view, dynamic, Night Package, Carbon Package II, Exterior: graphite gray metallic; combined fuel consumption: 8,9-8,6 l / 100 km, combined CO2 emissions: 204-198 g / km

Mercedes E-Class - Mopf 2020 - The interior

There are new trim parts for the interior of the two-door E-Class models, such as open-pore ash in gray or aluminum with carbon grinding. Standard equipment will include a cockpit consisting of two 10,25-inch displays. The MBUX infotainment system with voice control and augmented reality functions is already included in the package. The display system can be upgraded to two 12,3-inch displays for an additional charge. An adaptive driver seat adjustment is new: If the driver specifies his height to the on-board system, the seat position is pre-adjusted.

Mercedes E-Class - Mopf 2020 - assistance systems

As with the normal E-Class, the functional scope of some assistance systems has also been expanded for the two-door model. Thanks to a new generation of steering wheels, steering movements are no longer necessary to signal the on-board computer that the driver has the valance, which increases comfort in semi-automated driving. The standard collision avoidance system will intervene with the driver assistance package when turning over the opposite lane if the driver overlooks an oncoming left turn. The active cruise control adjusts the speed based on navigation information and speed limits. In addition, the speed of traffic jams is automatically reduced by integrating real-time traffic data. Thanks to the emergency lane function, the lane following assistant can also master off-center lane guidance. There is also a new exit warning based on the Blind Spot Assist, which is intended to avoid door accidents with cyclists, for example.

With Mercedes Me and the corresponding app, users will also have remote access to some vehicle functions in the future. The Urban Guard is new, it registers whether the vehicle is stolen, towed or jostled and informs its owner. Location is also possible, which helps the police find a stolen vehicle.

Mercedes E-Class - Mopf 2020 - The engines

The range of performance of the petrol engines for Coupé and Cabriolet ranged from 145 kW / 197 PS to 270 kW / 367 PS at the market launch in autumn, with the diesel there are initially two engines with 143 kW / 194 PS and 240 kW / 340 PS. Innovations such as a nanoslide cylinder coating should increase their efficiency. The modified nine-speed automatic transmission is also intended to ensure greater efficiency.

The top engine among the AMG derivatives is the three-liter inline six-cylinder E 450 4Matic, which provides 270 kW / 367 hp and an additional e-boost of 16 kW / 22 hp. The gasoline engine, which is only available in combination with all-wheel drive, allows the coupé to accelerate to 100 km / h in five seconds, and a maximum of 250 km / h is possible. Consumption is between 8,0 and 8,5 liters.

It is also planned to introduce a new four-cylinder diesel with a two-liter displacement and 48-volt mild hybrid technology for both model series this year. The two-liter unit called OM 654 M has an output of 195 kW / 265 hp and an e-boost of 15 kW / 20 hp. With a system output of 285 hp, these are the strongest four-cylinder diesels currently available on the market. In addition to electrification, the innovations of the new engine include an injection pressure increased to 2.700 bar, two water-cooled turbochargers with variable turbine geometry, and a new crankshaft, which slightly increases the stroke and the displacement.

Mercedes E-Class - Mopf 2020 - the prices

Mercedes has not yet announced prices for the two-door E-Class offshoots. It is certain that these will attract a few thousand euros. The coupé currently costs around 49.000 euros, the convertible almost 55.000 euros.

Total
0
Shares

Neue Schminke, Helfer und Motoren

Mercedes-AMG E-Klasse Cabriolet, 2020, Outdoor, Exterieur: designo hyazinthrot metallic, AMG-Line; Interieur: Leder Nappa macchiatobeige/magmagrau, AMG-Line, Holz-Zierteile Esche grau offenporig Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet, 2020, Outdoor, exterior: designo hyacinth red metallic, AMG line; interior: nappa leather macchiato beige/magma grey, AMG line, grey open-pore ash wood trim parts

Wie Limousine und Kombi hat Mercedes auch Coupé und Cabriolet der E-Klasse-Familie einer Modellpflege unterzogen. Die beschert den Lifestyle-Ablegern einen Blumenstrauß an Innovationen.

Mercedes E-Klasse: Facelift für Coupé/Cabriolet

Neue Schminke, Helfer und Motoren

Nach der modellgepflegten E-Klasse im Sommer reicht Mercedes im Herbst die analog überarbeiten Zweitürer E-Klasse Coupé und Cabriolet nach. Wie zuvor Limousine und Kombi bekommen sie kleinere Optik-Retuschen sowie einige Innenraum-Innovationen und neue Motoren.

[lwptoc min=”5″ depth=”6″]

Optisch fallen die Änderungen dezent aus. Die Scheinwerfer – wie bisher serienmäßig in Voll-LED-Ausführung – sind künftig etwas flacher. Der „Diamantgrill“ in A-förmiger Ausführung soll dem Gesicht mehr Dynamik verleihen. Die zweiteiligen LED-Heckleuchten erhalten ein neues Innenleben. Vier neue Außenlacke und neue Felgendesigns stehen zur Wahl.

Mercedes-AMG E 53 Coupé (Kraftstoffverbrauch kombiniert: 8,9-8,6 l/100 km, CO2-Emissionen kombiniert: 204-198 g/km), 2020, Outdoor, Vorderansicht, dynamisch, Night Paket, Carbon Paket II, Exterieur: graphitgrau metallic;Kraftstoffverbrauch kombiniert: 8,9-8,6 l/100 km, CO2-Emissionen kombiniert: 204-198 g/km

Mercedes E-Klasse – Mopf 2020 – Der Innenraum

Für den Innenraum der zweitürigen E-Klasse-Modelle gibt es neue Zierteile wie offenporige Esche in Grau oder Aluminium mit Carbonschliff. Zur Serienausstattung gehört künftig ein aus zwei 10,25-Zoll-Displays bestehendes Cockpit. Das Infotainmentsystem MBUX mit Sprachbedienung und Augmented-Reality-Funktionen ist bereits im Paket enthalten. Gegen Aufpreis lässt sich das Anzeigesystem auf zwei 12,3-Zoll-Displays aufwerten. Neu ist eine adaptive Fahrersitzanpassung: Gibt der Fahrer dem Bordsystem seine Körpergröße an, wird die Sitzposition vorjustiert.

Mercedes E-Klasse – Mopf 2020 – Assistenzsysteme

Wie bei der normalen E-Klasse werden auch bei den Zweitürern die Funktionsumfänge einiger Assistenzsysteme erweitert. Dank einer neuen Lenkradgeneration sind keine Lenkbewegungen mehr nötig, um dem Bordcomputer zu signalisieren, dass der Fahrer das Volant umfasst, was den Komfort beim teilautomatisierten Fahren erhöht. Der serienmäßige Kollisionsverhinderer greift künftig mit dem Fahrassistenzpaket beim Abbiegen über die Gegenfahrbahn ein, sollte der Fahrer einen entgegenkommenden Linksabbieger übersehen. Der aktive Tempomat passt die Geschwindigkeit auf Grundlage von Naviinformationen und Tempolimits an. Zudem wird mit der Einbindung von Echtzeitverkehrsdaten auch das Tempo vor Staus automatisch gesenkt. Der Spurfolgeassistent beherrscht auf Wunsch dank Rettungsgassenfunktion auch eine außermittige Spurführung. Neu ist zudem eine auf dem Totwinkel-Assistenten basierende Ausstiegswarnung, die Tür-Unfälle etwa mit Radfahrern vermeiden soll.

Mit Mercedes Me und entsprechender App hat der Nutzer zudem künftig Fernzugriff auf einige Fahrzeugfunktionen. Neu ist der Urban Guard, er registriert, ob das Fahrzeug gestohlen, abgeschleppt oder angerempelt wird und informiert seinen Besitzer. Auch eine Ortung ist möglich, was der Polizei hilft, ein gestohlenes Fahrzeug zu finden.

Mercedes E-Klasse – Mopf 2020 – Die Motoren

Das Leistungsspektrum der Benziner für Coupé und Cabriolet rangiert zum Marktstart im Herbst von 145 kW/197 PS bis 270 kW/367 PS, bei den Dieseln gibt es zunächst zwei Motoren mit 143 kW/194 PS und 240 kW/340 PS. Innovationen wie eine Nanoslide-Zylinderbeschichtung soll deren Effizienz steigern. Auch die in Details modifizierte Neungang-Automatik soll für einen höheren Wirkungsgrad sorgen.

Top-Motorisierung unterhalb der AMG-Derivate ist der Dreiliter-Reihensechszylinder E 450 4Matic, der 270 kW/367 PS und einem zusätzlichen E-Boost von 16 kW/22 PS zur Verfügung stellt. Der ausschließlich in Kombination mit Allradantrieb erhältliche Ottomotor erlaubt eine Beschleunigung des Coupés auf Tempo 100 in fünf Sekunden, maximal sind 250 km/h möglich. Der Verbrauch liegt zwischen 8,0 und 8,5 Litern liegen.

Geplant ist für beide Modellreihen außerdem noch in diesem Jahr die Einführung eines neuen Vierzylinder-Diesels mit zwei Litern Hubraum und 48-Volt-Mildhybridtechnik. Das OM 654 M genannte Zweiliter-Aggregat leistet 195 kW/265 PS, hinzu kommt ein E-Boost von 15 kW/20 PS. Mit 285 PS Systemleistung handelt es sich um die stärksten derzeit am Markt verfügbaren Vierzylinder-Diesel. Zu den Innovationen des neuen Motors zählen neben einer Elektrifizierung ein auf 2.700 bar erhöhter Einspritzdruck, zwei wassergekühlte Turbolader mit variabler Turbinengeometrie sowie eine neue Kurbelwelle, welche den Hub und den Hubraum leicht erhöht.

Mercedes E-Klasse – Mopf 2020 – Die Preise

Preise zu den zweitürigen E-Klasse-Ablegern nennt Mercedes noch nicht. Diese werden, soviel ist sicher, um einige tausend Euro anziehen. Derzeit kostet das Coupé rund 49.000 Euro, das Cabriolet fast 55.000 Euro.

Total
0
Shares