Mercedes EQS

The series version of the EQS study is expected in the first half of the year

In times of corona and high pollution, clean air is becoming more and more important. Mercedes customers should be able to breathe freely in the future.  

Clean air like in an operating room - that is what the new interior filter system of the Mercedes EQS promises. For the first time, the group is using a highly effective HEPA filter in the electric luxury sedan, which filters the smallest dust particles and viruses from the air we breathe. So far, the technology was only available in models from the US electrical pioneer Tesla.

The HEPA filters, also known from hospitals, require significantly more space than the usual cabin filters for cars. Electric cars offer the necessary installation space, as they can do without the combustion engine and its ancillary units in the front area. With a volume of almost ten liters and an area of ​​a good four A4 sheets, the HEPA filter removes even PM2.5 class fine dust, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide and unpleasant smells from the ambient air, according to Mercedes.

The Mercedes EQS is expected for spring. The optically independent electric offshoot of the S-Class should offer a range of 700 kilometers. In addition to the sedan, four other e-models are planned on the same platform.

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts

Mercedes EQS

Die Serienversion der EQS-Studie wird für die erste Hälfte des Jahres erwartet

Saubere Atemluft wird in Zeiten von Corona und hoher Schadstoffbelastung immer wichtiger. Mercedes-Kunden sollen künftig besonders frei aufatmen können.  

Reine Luft wie in einem Operationssaal – das verspricht das neue Innenraum-Filtersystem des Mercedes EQS. In der elektrischen Oberklasselimousine setzt der Konzern erstmals einen hocheffektiven HEPA-Filter ein, der kleinste Staubteilchen und Viren aus der Atemluft filtert. Bislang war die Technik lediglich bei Modellen des US-Elektropioniers Tesla zu haben.

Die auch aus Krankenhäusern bekannten HEPA-Filter benötigen deutlich mehr Platz als die üblichen Innenraumfilter für Pkw. Elektroautos bieten den nötigen Bauraum, da sie im Frontbereich auf den Verbrennungsmotor und seine Nebenaggregate verzichten können. Mit einem Volumen von fast zehn Litern und einer Fläche von gut vier DIN-A4-Blättern entfernt der HEPA-Filter laut Mercedes selbst Feinstäube der Klasse PM2.5, Stickoxide, Schwefeldioxid und unangenehme Gerüche aus der Umgebungsluft.

Der Mercedes EQS wird für das Frühjahr erwartet. Der optisch eigenständige Elektro-Ableger der S-Klasse soll eine Reichweite von 700 Kilometern bieten. Neben der Limousine sind vier weitere E-Modelle auf der gleichen Plattform geplant.

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts