Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid: winter, ice and heating

Winter, ice and snow pose the Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid a new challenge. Again and again, we receive e-mails from Outlander drivers or prospects who want to know what experiences we have had with the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid, now that it's so cold.

Warm through the winter in the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid

I'm not a friend of gloves and scarf in the car. A thick jacket, solid or even coarse footwear and you feel like a snowman behind the wheel. I personally prefer athletic shoes and prefer to drive without a jacket car. Since the freedom of movement is less restricted. In winter, a family car with us definitely needs a seat heating, better still, in addition, a heater. The Outlander Plug-In Hybrid has such an electric heater (and the seat heater!). Ever since it got cold, we have programmed this, every day at the same time warms the Outlander, thawing the discs and takes the upcoming car ride so the frosty horror.

However - and here there was a reader email with a very similar question - the preheating time of the Outlander plug-in hybrid not to be very long. If a lot of snow fell, then it may be necessary to activate a second heating phase despite the auxiliary heating.

Heating power of the auxiliary heater

The auxiliary heater draws 2.2 kW of power from the socket for ten minutes. Then it switches itself off by itself. Reader Hiersemann also recently asked whether it is really only 10 minutes that can be preheated with the auxiliary heater.

Yes. After ten minutes, the electric heater switches off. A restart is then not possible immediately. Only after another 10 minutes it can be activated again. That would not be so dramatic, if the app for remote control of the Outlander plug-in hybrid would not be so slow and cumbersome to use. Add to this the well-known problem with the connection via WLAN. Say, just from the bathroom or even better out of the bedroom to connect with the Outlander, rather not work. Here further expansion of the connectivity of the Outlander plug-in hybrid would be desirable. Either it connects directly to our home Wi-Fi, that would be enough, or Mitsubishi would offer connectivity via mobile. Then you would be able to connect to your own plug-in outlander also remotely. But back to winter, back to the heater.

outlander phev winter

Under 7 °, the heating system (climate control) requires a heating stove that supplies the heat required by the occupants. Although the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid uses an electric heater for the water circuit for the auxiliary heater, as soon as you are in motion, the waste heat must be provided by the engine. Now reader Hiersemann asked for my personal attitude to the heating, how I drive as little as possible by gasoline engine and what I do, so I with the Outlander PHEV both with warm feet and maximum efficient on the way.

Well - it's very simple:

Before I freeze, start the discs or the air in the car gets stuffy, so I let the petrol engine of the Outlander plug-in hybrid run along so dear! 

Warm feet are more important to me than the last drop of petrol efficiency. True to the motto: Technology should serve people, not the other way around. It would probably be great if the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid were equipped with a 20kW battery instead of a 12 kW battery. It would also be great if the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid worked like an electric car via a heat pump. Use an air conditioner and heater, and then use an effective dehumidifier. Yes, that would be great. And instead of a 2.0 liter petrol engine without charging, I would like a 1.5 liter three-cylinder turbo petrol engine with gas drive (CNG).

But that's not how it works. The Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid is offered all over the world. Germany, on the other hand, is one of the countries where the autobahn is free, but diesel is cheaper than petrol. In addition, we commute less, and if so, then a longer distance. It is not easy to find the right compromise for all drivers. This is precisely why the range of drive options continues to differ. Gasoline engine, diesel engine, electric motor, gas drives, hybrids, serial, parallel, plug-in and plug-in with diesel, sometimes with gasoline. There is simply no silver bullet at the moment. Especially not for such small markets as Germany, where there is currently too little demand for plug-in technologies.

With the increasing selection, the advice and the analysis of one's own driving habits becomes more and more important, because only then can you find the most sensible solution for your own needs. And that is exactly what must happen when buying a car before. 

In my opinion, the Mitsubishi Outlander plug-in hybrid offers an extremely intelligent bridge technology with a reasonably dimensioned battery (larger would be heavier and more expensive) and can still be driven over the long haul without having to worry about charging station fears. We still accept that compromises have to be made.

As a family car, the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid hangs in front of the house for most of the day and is charged whenever we want to use it. Nevertheless, I don't have to worry about the range as soon as we leave battery operation. The petrol engine works sufficiently efficiently thanks to the recuperation of kinetic energy and the constant balance between battery power and momentum.

That's why I do not worry about maximizing the battery operation. For me it is more important to drive with a well-conditioned car. Therefore, I completely renounce the ECO button, turn the climate on 19.5 °, use the heater as much as possible and I am pleased with the clever interaction of the three electric motors and the gasoline engine.

5.42 liters on average on 100 kilometers

We obtain 100% of our electricity from renewable energy sources. Then I'm generous when it comes to preheating the Outlanders Plug-In Hybrid. And with the 5.42 liters in real consumption - the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid plays the role of a family SUV here - I save myself any criticism! The plug-in hybrid is currently the only plug-in hybrid SUV that is within a reasonable financial framework. And Mitsubishi has dared to go far ahead. I don't want to rule out the possibility that some things will still change in the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid. Presumably, some things will also be feasible using software.

Software update for the Remote Control

As soon as you type this blog article, the mobile phone reminds you that an update for the “Remote Control App” is due. The preheating time of the auxiliary heater can be set with software version 1.3.7. 10 minutes, 20 minutes or 30 minutes. To apply the update, you have to let the app connect to the car. Then put the car in update mode (switch on the ignition without depressing the brake, then alternately press open / close 5 times via remote control (a total of 10 times!) And then update the app.

Just tried: Now runs the auxiliary heater for 20 minutes. This should currently be sufficient to defrost the windows and preheat the interior 😉 

 

 

Total
0
Shares

Comments are closed.

Related Posts

Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid: Winter, Eis und die Heizung

Winter, Eis und Schnee stellen den Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid vor eine neue Herausforderung. Und immer wieder erreichen uns eMails von Outlander-Fahrern oder Interessenten, die wissen wollen, welche Erfahrungen wir mit dem Outlander Plug-In Hybrid gemacht haben, jetzt, wo es so kalt ist.

Warm durch den Winter im Outlander Plug-In Hybrid

Ich bin kein Freund von Handschuhen und Schal im Auto. Eine dicke Jacke, festes oder gar grobes Schuhwerk dazu und man fühlt sich wie ein Schneemann hinter dem Lenkrad. Ich persönlich bevorzuge sportliche Schuhe und fahre am liebsten ohne Jacke Auto. Da ist die Bewegungsfreiheit weniger eingeschränkt. Im Winter braucht ein Familien-Auto bei uns auf jeden Fall eine Sitzheizung, besser noch, zusätzlich eine Standheizung. Der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid besitzt eine solche elektrische Standheizung (und die Sitzheizung!). Seitdem es kalt geworden ist, haben wir diese programmiert, täglich zur gleichen Zeit wärmt sich der Outlander vor, taut dabei die Scheiben ab und nimmt der bevorstehenden Autofahrt so den frostigen Schrecken.

Allerdings – und hier gab es eine Leser eMail mit einer ganz ähnlichen Frage – scheint die Vorwärmezeit des Outlander Plug-In Hybrid nicht besonders lang zu sein. Wenn viel Schnee fiel, dann kann es trotz Standheizung mal notwendig sein, eine zweite Heizphase zu aktivieren.

Heizleistung der Standheizung

Die Standheizung zieht 2.2 kW an Leistung aus der Steckdose und das für zehn Minuten. Danach schaltet sie sich von alleine aus.  Auch Leser Hiersemann fragte vor kurzem, ob es wirklich nur 10 Minuten sind, die man per Standheizung vorwärmen kann.

Ja. Nach zehn Minuten schaltet sich die elektrische Heizung aus. Ein erneutes Einschalten ist dann nicht sofort möglich. Erst nach weiteren 10 Minuten lässt sie sich erneut aktivieren. Das wäre alles nicht so dramatisch, wäre die App zur Fernsteuerung des Outlander Plug-In Hybrid nicht so langsam und umständlich zu bedienen. Dazu kommt die bekannte Problematik mit der Verbindung via WLAN. Sprich, einfach mal vom Badezimmer aus oder besser noch aus dem Schlafzimmer heraus mit dem Outlander in Verbindung zu treten, klappt eher nicht. Hier wäre ein weiterer Ausbau der Konnektivität des Outlander Plug-In Hybrid wünschenswert. Entweder er verbindet sich direkt mit dem WLAN von uns zu Hause, das würde ausreichen, oder Mitsubishi würde eine Konnektivität per Mobilfunk anbieten. Dann würde man die Verbindung zum eigenen Plug-In Outlander auch aus der Ferne vornehmen können. Aber zurück zum Winter, zurück zur Standheizung.

outlander phev winter

Unter 7° benötigt die Heizung (Klimaautomatik) einen Heizofen, der ihr die Wärme zuliefert, die von den Insassen gefordert wird. Beim Outlander Plug-In Hybrid arbeitet zwar eine elektrische Heizung für den Wasserkreislauf für die Standheizung, sobald man in Fahrt ist, muss die Abwärme jedoch vom Motor geleistet werden. Nun fragte Leser Hiersemann nach meiner ganz persönlichen Einstellung für die Heizung, wie ich möglichst wenig per Benzinmotor fahre und was ich mache, damit ich mit dem Outlander PHEV sowohl mit warmen Füßen als auch maximal effizient unterwegs bin.

Nun – das ist ganz einfach:

Bevor ich friere, die Scheiben anlaufen oder die Luft im Auto stickig wird, lasse ich den Benziner des Outlander Plug-In Hybrid also lieber mitlaufen! 

Mir sind warme Füße wichtiger als der letzte Tropfen Benzin-Effizienz. Frei nach dem Motto: Die Technik soll dem Menschen dienen, nicht andersherum. Vermutlich wäre es toll, wenn der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid mit einem 20kW-Akku anstelle eines 12 kW-Akku ausgerüstet wäre. Es wäre auch toll, würde der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid dann wie ein E-Auto über eine Wärmpepumpe arbeiten. Für die Klimaanlage und für die Heizung und dann noch einen wirksamen Luftentfeuchter verwenden. Ja, super wäre das. Und anstelle eines 2.0 Liter Benziners ohne Aufladung würde ich mir dann einen 1.5 Liter Dreizylinder Turbo-Benziner mit Gas-Antrieb wünschen (CNG).

Aber so funktioniert das leider nicht. Der Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid wird auf der ganzen Welt angeboten. Deutschland wiederum gehört zu den Ländern, in denen auf der Autobahn freie Fahrt gilt, Diesel aber billiger als Benzin ist. Zudem wird bei uns weniger gependelt, und wenn, dann eine längere Strecke. Es ist nicht einfach, den richtigen Kompromiss für alle Autofahrer zu finden. Genau deswegen differenziert sich das Angebot an Antriebsmöglichkeiten ja weiterhin. Benzinmotor, Dieselmotor, Elektromotor, Gas-Antriebe, Hybride, Seriell, Parallel, Plug-In und Plug-In mit Diesel, mal mit Benzin. Einen Königsweg gibt es derzeit einfach nicht.  Erst recht nicht für so kleine Märkte wie Deutschland, in denen Plug-In Techniken derzeit noch zu wenig nachgefragt werden.

Mit der steigenden Auswahl wird die Beratung und die Analyse der eigenen Fahrgewohnheiten immer wichtiger, denn nur so findet man die sinnvollste Lösung für die eigenen Bedürfnisse. Und genau das muss beim Autokauf zuvor stattfinden. 

Der Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid bietet in meinen Augen eine extrem intelligente Brücken-Technik aus vernünftig dimensionierter Batterie (größer wäre schwerer und teurer) und lässt sich dennoch über die Langstrecke fahren, ohne Ladesäulen-Ängste haben zu müssen. Dass man dann dennoch Kompromisse eingehen muss, das akzeptieren wir.

Als Familienauto hängt der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid den größten Teil des Tages vor dem Haus an der Steckdose und ist aufgeladen, wann immer wir ihn nutzen möchten. Dennoch muss ich mir keine Gedanken über die Reichweite machen, sobald wir den Akku-Betrieb verlassen. Der Benzinmotor arbeitet dank der Rekuperation der Bewegungsenergie und dem ständigen Gleichgewicht aus Batterieleistung und Schwungkraft  ausreichend effizient.

Deswegen mache ich mir auch keine Gedanken um die Maximierung des Akku-Betriebes. Mir ist es wichtiger, mit einem gut klimatisierten Auto zu fahren. Daher verzichte ich vollständig auf die ECO-Taste, schalte die Klima auf 19.5°, nutze die Standheizung so viel es geht und freue mich über das clevere Zusammenspiel der drei E-Motoren und des Benziners.

5.42 Liter im Schnitt auf 100 Kilometer

Unseren Strom beziehen wir zu 100 % aus regenerativen Energiequellen. Da bin ich dann großzügig, was die Vorheizung des Outlanders Plug-In Hybrid angeht. Und bei den 5.42 Litern im realen Verbrauch – der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid spielt hier die Rolle eines Familien-SUV – spare ich mir auch jede Kritik! Der Plug-In Hybrid ist derzeit der einzige Plug-In Hybrid SUV, der sich in einem vernünftigen finanziellen Rahmen bewegt.  Und Mitsubishi hat sich da weit nach vorne gewagt. Dass sich am Outlander Plug-In Hybrid noch einiges ändern, will ich nicht ausschließen. Vermutlich wird auch einiges per Software machbar sein.

Software-Update für die Remote Control

Kaum tippt man diesen Blog-Artikel, schon erinnert einen das Handy an ein fälliges Update für die “Remote Control App”. Mit Software-Stand 1.3.7 lässt sich die Vorheizdauer der Standheizung einstellen. 10 Minuten, 20 Minuten oder 30 Minuten.  Um das Update zu übernehmen, muss man die App die Verbindung zum Auto aufbauen lassen. Dann das Auto in den Update-Modus bringen (Zündung an, ohne die Bremse zu treten, dann 5x per Fernbedienung Auf / Zu im Wechsel drücken (insgesamt also 10 mal!) und dann das Update der App durchführen.

Gerade ausprobiert: Jetzt läuft die Standheizung für 20 Minuten. Das sollte derzeit ausreichen, um die Scheiben zu entfrosten und den Innenraum vorzuwärmen 😉 

 

 

Total
0
Shares

Comments are closed.

Related Posts