NEDC standard consumption and plug-in hybrid vehicles

The Endurance test of the Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid gives us the opportunity to learn a lot about the sense and nonsense of a plug-in hybrid. The “positive” sense includes using it as a “commuter vehicle” or simply as a family carriage. The nonsense was quickly clear. But that was done before the test, because here the plug-in hybrid didn't have to be driven first. Anyone who drives a lot has not made a mistake with electric and plug-in vehicles. The requirement profiles are simply too different.

Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid and the NEDC standard consumption

During our test, reader emails keep coming in with questions about our experience. Sometimes you want to know which equipment you should treat yourself to, and sometimes it's about the range and consumption in everyday life. A similar question came to us via comment this week. 

Hello Mr. Björn,

I bought an Outlander plug-in hybrid in the summer of 2015. However, my experience with the consumption of the car is something very different from yours. In the following I document an email that I send to 15. December to my Mitsubishi dealer. So far, I have not received an answer despite multiple requests.
Do you have an explanation for these extremely different consumption values?

- /// - Extract from an email from the customer to his dealer:

In the past few weeks I have had some long business trips and for the first time I was able to systematically control the energy consumption of my "Plug in Hybrid Outlander".

Total
KM status fueled KM L / 100 km KM L / 100 KM
02.12.2014        6914 32,46
December 03.12.2014, 7330 36,20 416 8,70 XNUMX
December 05.12.2014, 7718 32,94 388 8,49 XNUMX
December 06.12.2014, 8045 32,01 327 9,79 XNUMX
December 08.12.2014, 8461 31,69 416 7,62 XNUMX
December 09.12.2014, 8898 36,88 437 8,44 XNUMX
12.12.2014/9065/16,16 167 9,68 2151 8,64 XNUMX XNUMX

These figures do not yet include the electricity that was regularly charged via the socket, so that the effective petrol consumption per 100 KM is far higher.

The routes traveled are mainly motorway routes, which I mostly drove with the speed controller between 120 and 130 km / h. Of course in ECO mode.

With these values, the range of 800 km claimed by Mitsubishi in advertising is in no way achievable.

Also from the consumption values ​​about which the blog: http://autohub.de/im-alltag-erfahrungen-mitsubishi-outlander-plug-in-hybrid-84320/ reported, I can only dream: 4,75 L / 100 KM at speeds of 130 - 150 km / h.

As a result of this excessive petrol consumption, the ecological benefit of the vehicle as a whole is called into question. However, this benefit was the decisive reason why I chose your vehicle.

- //

Mr. Werkle wrote this comment in one of the articles on the Outlander plug-in hybrid. Since it would also be public there, I take the liberty to write a blog post as an answer. Because I think Mr. Werkle's question is also interesting for other customers.

Powertrain Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid
45l petrol tank, 12 kWh battery pack - the question of use!

Nonsense - NEDC

A standardized method is necessary so that automobile manufacturers can provide consumption information. So far so good. But now the measurement method adopted in the “EU” after the 1976 oil crisis corresponds to a “virtual” car driver and includes a standardized driving cycle.

This is how the test runs after the "New European driving cycle (NEDC) ”:

"NEDC" from unknown - unknown. Licensed under PD creation amount via Wikipedia - http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datei:NEDC.jpg#mediaviewer/File:NEDC.jpg

The standardized driving cycle takes a total of 1180 seconds, i.e. just under 20 minutes. The city cycle (urban conditions) takes two thirds of this time and the overland cycle (extra-urban conditions) one third. The Ambient temperature during the measurement is generally between 20 ° C and 30 ° C and has been around the parked vehicle for at least 6 hours. Cold start conditions, accelerations and decelerations are recorded and interpolated. (Source: Wikipedia)

A quick glance at this diagram shows: If you are traveling on the highway, you can not do anything with this standard value, but also nothing at all. This is because use of the NEDC method does not even take into account use on the motorway. You now say: Oh, are the manufacturer's specifications all out of touch with the world? Well: You can say that! 

According to advertising, the Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid only consumes 1.9 liters per 100 km - how can I use 8.64 liters on the highway? Isn't the difference too big?

As I said: the consumption on the highway and the consumption according to the NEDC standard have no connection. Especially since another formula is used for the measurement of plug-in hybrids: The ECE standard R101.

Consumption figures for electric hybrid vehicles - ECE standard R 101

C = total consumption in l / 100 km, C_1 = fuel consumption when the battery is fully charged, C_2 = fuel consumption when the battery is empty, D_e = purely electrical range, D_ {av} = 25 km (assumed average distance between two battery charges).
C = total consumption in l / 100 km,
C_1 = fuel consumption with fully charged battery,
C_2 = fuel consumption when the battery is empty,
D_e = purely electrical range,
D_ {av} = 25 km (assumed average distance between two battery charges).

Some people call this measuring cycle the “EU magic formula” and if you look at the driving distance for pure battery operation - just 25 kilometers - you understand the limitation of premium car manufacturers in terms of battery range. At Mercedes-Benz and Porsche, for example, hardly more than 30 km are achieved here.

The Mitsubishi plug-in hybrid has a length of around 41 kilometers. However, there have never been fewer than 30. And now we come to the most important point of the whole answer:

 

What does the Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid actually use?

Reader Werkle is right. With the Outlander plug-in hybrid, we currently consume around 5.4 liters per 100 kilometers. However, we have had weeks with 0.0 liters on 100 kilometers. Or with 2.0 liters. The question is: when do you end a measuring cycle? After filling up with a tank? After a week? After a month?

We mainly use the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid as a family car. That means: shopping, errands in the area, commuting and the like. There are rarely more than 40 kilometers a day. And when the temperatures were not yet below 0 °, such tours could be carried out purely on battery power.

If I take the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid and drive it to an appointment 300 kilometers away, then after 30-40 kilometers I have the gasoline engine as the drive source. And here Mitsubishi can just as little magic as any other manufacturer. However, I haven't done any major day-long stages with the Outlander Plug-In Hybrid. 300 kilometers of autobahn are enough to notice: Almost 9 liters run through the gasoline engine as soon as it has to do the work alone. But now let's be serious: NINE liters of gasoline for an SUV with five seats, weighing 2 tons, at a speed of 140-160? But hello!

Of course, these are not 1.9 as in the prospectus, but I wonder - can you seriously expect that? 

How should that be technologically possible? Brochure values ​​are derived standard values ​​and the methodology for recording these standard values ​​is far from a “business trip on the motorway”. Here on autohub.de we therefore also record "real ”consumption values according to a very unique method! And the differences. that we get out of here are sometimes enormous. Incidentally, the "auto, motor und sport ”the same test standards introduced and also uses a more realistic estimate of consumption values. Hence the answer to Mr. Werkle's questions:

My honest answer to Mr. Werkle:

Dear Mr. Werkle,

Differences in consumption are in the nature of things. When I drive our motorway with our PHEV test car, the consumption is in the same range. However, I am not surprised. Because as soon as the battery power runs out, the petrol engine has to take over the work completely. And here I am rather amazed by the low consumption. Not 9 liters at 120 - 130 km / h on the highway? A great value for an SUV with a petrol engine. If the business trip on the highway is more of your normal everyday life, then you have simply bought the wrong car. 800 km range? No problem if we use the Outlander as described above. There are also more than 2.000 kilometers possible with one tank filling, like the winners of a competition.

Use is crucial! The Outlander Plug-In Hybrid can only claim an extreme advantage if you understand its purpose. And that doesn't consist of driving long distances every day, but in everyday life. In the city. Over land. As a vehicle for families. If you look at the average consumption values spritmonitor.de, then the majority of PHEV buyers use your Outlander too.

So the question is always: within what period of time do you consider an “average consumption”? And what does my everyday automotive life look like?

 

 

 

Total
0
Shares

Comments are closed.

Related Posts

NEFZ-Normverbrauch und Plugin-Hybrid-Fahrzeuge

Der Dauertest des Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid gibt uns die Möglichkeit, viel über Sinn und Unsinn eines Plug-In Hybriden zu lernen. Zum “positiven” Sinn gehört die Nutzung als “Pendler-Fahrzeug” oder schlicht als Familienkutsche. Der Unsinn war schnell klar. Aber das bereits vor dem Test, denn hier musste der Plug-In Hybrid nicht erst gefahren werden. Wer zu den Vielfahrern gehört, der macht mit Elektro- und Plug-In Fahrzeugen noch keinen Stich. Da sind die Anforderungsprofile einfach zu unterschiedlich.

Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid und der NEFZ-Normverbrauch

Während unseres Tests erreichen uns immer wieder Leser-Emails mit Fragen zu unseren Erfahrungen. Manchmal will man wissen, welche Ausstattung man sich nun gönnen soll und manchmal geht es um die Reichweite und den Verbrauch im Alltag. Eine ähnliche Frage kam diese Woche per Kommentar zu uns. 

Hallo Herr Björn,

ich habe mir im Sommer 2015 einen Outlander Plug-In Hybrid zugelegt. Meine Erfahrungen mit dem Verbrauch des Wagens sind allerdings etwas sehr andere als Ihre. Im Folgenden dokumentiere ich eine EMail, die ich am 15. Dezember an meinen Mitsubishi-Händler geschrieben habe. Bisher habe ich trotz mehrfacher Nachfrage keine Antwort erhalten.
Haben Sie eine Erklärung für diese extrem unterschiedlichen Verbrauchswerte?

—///– Auszug aus einer eMail des Kunden an seinen Händler:

In den letzten Wochen hatte ich einige längere Dienstfahrten und konnte zu ersten Mal systematisch den Energieverbrauch meines „Plug in Hybrid Outlanders“ kontrollieren.

Gesamt
KM-Stand        Getankt KM      L/100 km        KM      L/100 KM
02.12.2014        6914    32,46
03.12.2014      7330    36,20   416     8,70
05.12.2014      7718    32,94   388     8,49
06.12.2014      8045    32,01   327     9,79
08.12.2014      8461    31,69   416     7,62
09.12.2014      8898    36,88   437     8,44
12.12.2014      9065    16,16   167     9,68    2151    8,64

In diesen Zahlen ist der Strom, der regelmäßig über die Steckdose geladen wurde, noch gar nicht enthalten, so dass der effektive Benzin-Verbrauch je 100 KM weit höher liegt.

Bei den gefahrenen Strecken handelt es sich vor allem um Autobahnstrecken, die ich meist mit dem Geschwindigkeitsregler zwischen 120 und 130 Km/h gefahren bis. Natürlich im ECO-Modus.

Mit diesen Werten ist die von Mitsubishi in der Werbung behauptete Reichweite von 800 km in keiner Weise zu erreichen.

Auch von den Verbrauchswerten, über die der Blog: http://autohub.de/im-alltag-erfahrungen-mitsubishi-outlander-plug-in-hybrid-84320/ berichtet, kann ich nur träumen: 4,75 L/100 KM bei Geschwindigkeiten von 130 – 150 Km/h.

Durch diesen überhöhten Benzinverbrauch ist der ökologische Nutzen des Fahrzeugs insgesamt in Frage gestellt. Dieser Nutzen war allerdings der entscheidende Grund, warum ich mich für Ihr Fahrzeug entschieden habe.

–//

Hr. Werkle hat diesen Kommentar in einen der Artikel zum Outlander Plug-In Hybrid geschrieben. Da er dort ebenso öffentlich wäre, erlaube ich mir, nun einen Blog-Post hierzu als Antwort zu verfassen. Denn ich denke, die Frage von Hrn. Werkle ist auch für andere Kunden interessant.

Antriebsstrang Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid
45l Benzintank, 12 kWh Akkupack – Die Frage nach der Nutzung!

Unsinn – NEFZ

Damit Automobil-Hersteller eine Verbrauchsangabe machen können, ist eine genormte Methode notwendig. Soweit so gut. Aber nun entspricht die in der “EU” gemeinsam nach der Ölkrise 1976 getroffene Messmethode einem “virtuellen” Autofahrer und umfasst einen genormten Fahrzyklus.

So läuft der Test nach dem “Neuer Europäischer Fahrzyklus (NEFZ)”:

„NEDC“ von unbekannt - unbekannt. Lizenziert unter PD-Schöpfungshöhe über Wikipedia - http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datei:NEDC.jpg#mediaviewer/File:NEDC.jpg

Der genormte Fahrzyklus dauert insgesamt 1180 Sekunden, also knapp 20 Minuten. Der City-Zyklus (städtische Bedingungen) dauert zwei Drittel dieser Zeit und der Überland-Zyklus (außerstädtische Bedingungen) ein Drittel. Die Umgebungstemperatur während der Messung beträgt grundsätzlich zwischen 20 °C und 30 °C und liegt vorher mindestens 6 Stunden lang um das abgestellte Fahrzeug vor. Kaltstartbedingung, Beschleunigungen und Verzögerungen werden erfasst und interpoliert. (Quelle: Wikipedia)

Alleine ein kurzer Blick auf dieses Diagramm zeigt: Wer auf der Autobahn unterwegs ist, der kann mit diesem Normwert nichts, aber auch gar nichts anfangen. Denn eine Nutzung auf der Autobahn wird mit diesem NEFZ-Verfahren gar nicht erst berücksichtigt. Sie sagen jetzt: Ach, dann sind die Herstellerangaben alle weltfremd? Nun: Das kann man wohl sagen! 

Laut Werbung verbraucht der Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid doch nur 1.9 Liter auf 100 km – wie kann ich dann 8.64 Liter auf der Autobahn verbrauchen? Ist der Unterschied nicht viel zu groß?

Wie gesagt: Der Verbrauch auf der Autobahn und der Verbrauch nach NEFZ-Norm haben keinen Zusammenhang. Zumal für die Messung von Plug-In Hybriden noch eine weitere Formel hinzugezogen wird: Die ECE-Norm R101.

Verbrauchsangaben für Elektrohybrid-Fahrzeuge – ECE-Norm R 101

C = Gesamtverbrauch in l/100 km, C_1 = Kraftstoffverbrauch bei voll aufgeladenem Akku, C_2 = Kraftstoffverbrauch bei leerem Akku, D_e = rein elektrische Reichweite, D_{av} = 25 km (angenommene durchschnittliche Strecke zwischen zwei Akkuaufladungen).
C = Gesamtverbrauch in l/100 km,
C_1 = Kraftstoffverbrauch bei voll aufgeladenem Akku,
C_2 = Kraftstoffverbrauch bei leerem Akku,
D_e = rein elektrische Reichweite,
D_{av} = 25 km (angenommene durchschnittliche Strecke zwischen zwei Akkuaufladungen).

Manch einer nennt diesen Messzyklus die “EU-Zauberformel” und schaut man sich die Fahrstrecke für den reinen Akku-Betrieb an – gerade mal 25 Kilometer – versteht man die Einschränkung von Premium-Automobilherstellern bei der Akku-Reichweite. Hier werden bei Mercedes-Benz und Porsche zum Beispiel kaum mehr als 30 km erreicht.

Der Mitsubishi Plug-In Hybrid kommt auf etwa 41 Kilometer. Weniger als 30 waren es jedoch bislang nie.  Und jetzt kommen wir zum wichtigsten Punkt der gesamten Antwort:

 

Was verbraucht der Mitsubishi Outlander Plug-In Hybrid in der Realität?

Leser Werkle hat recht. Aktuell verbrauchen wir mit dem Outlander Plug-In Hybrid etwa 5.4 Liter auf 100 Kilometer. Allerdings hatten wir auch schon Wochen mit 0.0 Litern auf 100 Kilometern. Oder mit 2.0 Litern. Die Frage ist: Wann beendet man einen Messzyklus? Nach einer Tankfüllung? Nach einer Woche? Nach einem Monat?

Wir setzen den Outlander Plug-In Hybrid vor allem als Familienauto ein. D.h.: Einkaufen, Besorgungen im Umkreis, Pendlerfahrten und ähnliches. Da kommen am Tag selten mehr als 40 Kilometer zusammen. Und als die Temperaturen noch nicht unter 0° waren, konnten solche Touren rein per Akkubetrieb abgewickelt werden.

Nehme ich den Outlander Plug-In Hybrid und fahre damit auf einen Termin, 300 Kilometer entfernt, dann habe ich nach 30-40 Kilometer den Benzinmotor als Antriebsquelle. Und hier kann Mitsubishi genauso wenig zaubern wie jeder andere Hersteller. Mit dem Outlander Plug-In Hybrid bin ich jedoch bislang keine größeren Tages-Etappen gefahren. 300 Kilometer Autobahn reichen, um zu merken: Knapp 9 Liter laufen durch den Benziner, sobald der alleine die Arbeit übernehmen muss. Aber jetzt mal ganz ernsthaft: NEUN Liter Benzin für einen SUV mit fünf Sitzplätzen, mit 2 Tonnen Gewicht, bei Tempo 140-160? Aber hallo!

Natürlich sind das keine 1.9 wie im Prospekt, aber ich frage mich – kann man das ernsthaft erwarten? 

Wie sollte das technologisch möglich sein? Prospekt-Werte sind abgeleitete Normwerte und die Methodik zur Erfassung von diesen Normwerten ist weit ab von einer “Dienstfahrt über die Autobahn”. Hier auf autohub.de erfassen wir deshalb auch “echte” Verbrauchswerte nach einer ganz eigenen Methode!  Und die Unterschiede. die wir hierbei herausfahren, sind teilweise enorm. Im übrigen hat gerade die “auto, motor und sport” die gleichen Testnormen eingeführt und nutzt auch eine realistischere Einschätzung der Verbrauchswerte.  Daher nun die Antwort auf die Fragen von Hrn. Werkle:

Meine ehrliche Antwort an Hrn. Werkle:

Lieber Hr. Werkle,

Unterschiede im Verbrauch liegen in der Natur der Sache. Wenn ich mit unserem PHEV-Testwagen über die Autobahn fahre, dann liegt der Verbrauch im gleichen Bereich. Das wundert mich jedoch nicht. Denn sobald die Akkuleistung zur Neige geht, muss der Benzinmotor die Arbeit vollständig übernehmen. Und hier bin ich eher erstaunt vom niedrigen Verbrauch. Keine 9 Liter bei 120 – 130 km/h auf der Autobahn? Ein toller Wert für einen SUV mit Benzinmotor. Sollte die Dienstfahrt über die Autobahn eher zu Ihrem normalen Alltag gehören, dann haben Sie schlicht das falsche Auto gekauft. 800 Kilometer Reichweite? Kein Problem, wenn wir den Outlander so nutzen, wie oben beschrieben. Da sind auch mehr als 2.000 Kilometer mit einer Tankfüllung möglich, wie die Gewinner eines Wettbewerbes bewiesen haben.

Entscheidend ist die Nutzung! Eine extremen Vorteil kann der Outlander Plug-In Hybrid nur dann für sich verbuchen, wenn man seinen Sinn versteht. Und der besteht eben nicht darin, die Langstrecke täglich zu fahren, sondern im Alltag. In der Stadt. Über Land. Als Fahrzeug für Familien. Schaut man sich die durchschnittlichen Verbrauchswerte auf spritmonitor.de an, dann nutzt die Mehrheit der PHEV-Käufer ihren Outlander auch genau so.

Die Frage ist also immer: Innerhalb von welchem Zeitraum betrachtet man einen “Durchschnitts-Verbrauch”? Und wie sieht mein automobiler Alltag aus?

 

 

 

Total
0
Shares

Comments are closed.

Related Posts